Today is Trash Day, Not a Recycle Day!

Let me rant for just a quick minute.  It aggravates me so much that they only collect recycling once every two weeks here!  It’s a shame because I have so much for them to pick up every two weeks.  The recycle baskets get heavy enough I need help getting them out.  But on a more positive note, it was GOOD that today was not recycling day because I haven’t sorted through my recycle bag yet to put them in their proper places!  I’ve decided that it’s easier for me to just keep a bag in the pantry of items that I recycle and at the end of the week sort them.  It keeps me from running to put things in the garage every half hour or so.

Today may be Friday the 13th, but I have a feeling today is going to be a great day!  I am FINALLY getting my potting soil today.  Since my fiance will be gone all day tomorrow, I can take that time to set up my corner of the patio for my plants.  I have a small container with my compost materials in it.  It’d been decomposing for a little over a week now.  I am planting Chives, Parsley, Oregano, Squash, Cherry Tomatoes, and Bell Peppers.  Trust me, I now have the containers to do it all.  Between what I retrieved from the trash can and what I picked up at the 99 cent only store, we are all set to go.  I can’t wait to see the seeds starting to sprout!

You do know that the best time to think of the most brilliant ideas in the world is when you are in the shower.  I was thinking about how the Las Vegas Valley is in a serious drought.  The county and state are really beginning to crack down on water usage.  Unfortunately this wasn’t thought about when they built our house.  Our hot water heater is all the way in the garage.  You have the garage, the patio, and then the house.  So, when you want hot water, you waste water by waiting for the hot water to get there.   SO, instead of wasting that water, I’m going to set aside some cleaned milk jugs and try to save that water to water my plants.  Waste not, want not.  Right? 

Today, I am looking for my spare camera since the death of my old camera.  I plan on taking pictures each week to show you my progress and hopefully how green my thumb will be!

Oh, and my recommended business of the day is:  Learning is an Art .  If you are looking for something to help your children understand Math, Reading, Social Studies, and Science, they have the products for you!  Learning is an Art has games, toys, and DVD’s that help children with their core subjects.  They even have games that can teach Sign Language and Spanish.  Visit them at:  http://nicole.learningisanart.com .  They also have a great affiliate program if you are in need of some extra cash each month.  They give you a free website, you direct traffic their way, if people buy, they send you a commission check! 

Tell me what you are doing green today!

2 Comments

  1. Jingle said,

    March 13, 2009 at 2:31 pm

    We live in an apartment complex and that makes the whole trash thing WAY easy! We have a service that picks up the trash stuff at our door each evening and then we just carry the recycling down to the bin whenever it needs to go!

    Hey! I totally want to work with you to do that bag giveaway on my blog! I shot you an email!

    • milosmom said,

      March 13, 2009 at 2:34 pm

      I wish out housing complex would do that. It would make my life easier! I look forward to working with you too! 🙂


Leave a comment