Getting noticed at the check out counter…

I decided to go to Walmart because I now have a small child that is mobile and likes to get food and milk in our carpet.  I was out purchasing more food for the kidlet to eat and a cheaper steam cleaner for the carpet.  I was so excited because I remembered my reusable bags.  I haded my bags over to the cashier and made the comment, “I bet you dislike eco-people like us!”  She replied, “Believe it or not, I can get more items in your bags than I can in a normal plastic bag.  It saves me more time when I don’t have to grab another plastic bag!”  Of course, when the cashier said that, the lady in front of me and the family behind me were checking out my FASHIONABLE reusable Elemental Totes and asking where they could get one. 

I don’t know.  I think I’m just excited that people are starting to take notice that I’m working on living a greener life.  If I don’t get all of my garbage separated, I feel guilty.  I look at things in my house that clutter my life and wonder, “who can I give this too or where can I recycle this?”  You know I really hate to give restaurants and fast food places crap, but I LOVE LOVE LOVE Sonic’s drinks.  I love me a Cherry Coke and a Cherry Limeaid.  They make my stomach feel all happy.  I love their food, but HATE the fact that all their drinks come in a styrofoam container.  I’ve done a bit of research around and even in Vegas, there is maybe on vendor that will take styrofoam containers and make them into something else.  Normal recycling doesn’t cover it.  I asked the assistant manager at Sonic if a person could bring their own container, but they said that it was against health codes.  What I don’t understand is that you can buy a container for a convenient store and get $.50 refills if you bring your own container, yet it’s against a health code if it is filled by an individual other than yourself?

Mind you, I’m not boycotting Sonic, by any means.  I can eat their Cheddar Peppers all day long.  I’m just not getting my drinks from there anymore.  Since I can’t recycle the styrofoam, I don’t want to spend money on something that really never breaks down in the landfill.  So, I’ve decided to find me my very own cherry limeade (I guess you could say “recipe”) compliments of www.allrecipes.com.

Cherry Limeade I
 
recipe image
Rated: rating
Submitted By: CINDYM457
Photo By: JenInCalifornia
Prep Time: 5 Minutes
Ready In: 5 Minutes
Servings: 12
“Extra tart cherry limeade. To reduce the tartness, stir in an additional bottle of lemon-lime soda.”
Ingredients:
2 (12 fluid ounce) cans frozen limeade
concentrate
1 (2 liter) bottle lemon-lime flavored
carbonated beverage
1 (10 ounce) jar maraschino cherries,
drained and juice reserved
1 lime
Directions:
1. Pour both cans of concentrated limeade into a large pitcher. Mix in lemon-lime soda. Stir in reserved cherry juice. Squeeze juice from lime into mixture, then slice and set aside. Stir well and serve over ice. Garnish with cherries and lime slices.
ALL RIGHTS RESERVED © 2009 Allrecipes.com Printed from Allrecipes.com 3/23/2009

Update on the planting situation:  So far, nothing has sprouted.  I’m so sad, but as I’ve said before, I have no patience what so ever.  So, I’m giving it another four days, if nothing happens, I’ll just try again!

Have an Eco-Friendly day All!

1 Comment

  1. Jen said,

    March 25, 2009 at 6:17 am

    Guess what?? We got recycle bins! 😉 We only found two (we found them around the house… Just regular old totes with lids… We are using one for paper and one for something else. I think cardboard. Or does that go to the same bin? We are not getting pickup, we have to drop off… Anyway. When my mom had the restaurant we couldn’t fill people’s cups up either. Weird. Anyway!! 🙂 Congrats on the checkout notice deal! 🙂


Leave a Reply

