My first Eco-Party!!!

Last night I had the opportunity to be a part of a shopping event put on by http://www.momchats.com.  I was privileged enough to be the last speaker of the evening.  The good news is that most of the people in attendance were other direct sales people.  Many of them were amazed to know that there was a company like emagineGreen out there.  I enjoyed going over several of the products in our catalog and giving out information about the environment and meeting people from different parts of the country.  Overall, it was a great party.  I hope to be a part of another shopping even soon for those who may have missed it. 

This morning was recycling pick up.  I swear, the more into recycling that I get, the earlier I have to get up to make sure I get all of it out on the curb in time.  Those bins get heavy after a while.  I think I made about four trips from the house to the curb.  I just hope that they leave my plastic container that I have all of my cardboard boxes in.  I’m only getting rid of the smaller boxes.  I save the bigger boxes on the off chance that we have to move again.  With this economy, who knows, right?  Today, I’m going through my closet to find out what I wear and what I don’t.  I started noticing that there was a lot that I wasn’t wearing when I would go to a full closet and couldn’t find ANYTHING to wear.  So, we are reducing.

In an effort to lessen our monthly bills, we had my cell phone turned off and my fiance’s plan lowered on his cell phone.  We called Cox Cable and had them install a digital house phone for us.  I believe that we saved an extra $100 for the month.  Now that we’ve done that, my mind is racing to see what else we can cut.  I swear I’m like a little kid running through the house with scissors to find out what else I can “cut up”.  I’m thinking about implementing a few new rules when it comes to shopping too:

1)            A shopping list has to be in hand when one of us goes to the grocery store.

2)            There are about five grocery stores that mail us their weekly specials.  During the week, we kind of go all over the city.  Maybe we could find one of the five stores throughout the week close to our destinations and get the lowest prices from each store. 

3)            Organize a coupon book to put in my purse.  I’m finally going to start printing off coupons online.  I was skeptical at first, but all I’ve heard is great things from other moms.

4)            When it comes to work, sending more emails and making more phone calls than mailing packages. 

Those are just the ones I’ve come up with this morning.  How are you cutting your spending and meeting your budget goals?

 

emaginegreen_logo

Would you like a chance to show your family and friends what they can do to help the environment?  Don’t do it alone!  Book your Eco-Workshop today for online or in person!  You can earn free and discounted emagineGreen products for your home so you can tell the world how “green” you are!  Sign for a workshop today at:

http://greencoach.emaginegreen.com/NicoleSullivan

1 Comment

  1. Jen said,

    March 20, 2009 at 4:50 pm

    Have you checked out Thrifty Mommy? (www.thriftymommy.com) She’s great. Also, wasn’t it you telling me about wal-mart doing competitor’s ads? If there’s a Wal-Mart near you, that’s awesome. They don’t do Buy one, Get one free though. Sucks. You can do meat though… and store brand stuff from other stores they’ll match it with their store brand. That way you reduce the list of stuff you need from other stores. We have cox. I can’t help but think we could find something cheaper though. Our bill is so much a month. 130.00. And we RARELY even watch tv. We have to have internet, and since our phones are from north la and anaelise is in school, we need a house phone. Hmm.. What to do. We were thinking about getting cox to do JUST internet, and getting vonage for our phone.

    As always, I am (im)patiently waiting for the next post… I LOVE IT! 🙂 Keep up the great work.


Leave a Reply

