Great Green News & My Frugal Planting

This morning I read that the city of Austin, Texas has approved the building of the nation’s largest solar plant that should be able to support up to 5,000 homes. That may not seem like a lot, but they are using a wonderful renewable resource and it isn’t causing any damage to our planet! Check out the article at:

http://www.greendaily.com/2009/03/09/austin-approves-the-nations-largest-solar-plant/

If we weren’t renting and in a wonderful house governed by the Homeowners Association, I would be interested in installing a solar panel on the roof.  I’ll own my own home soon enough and can do with it what I want.  Today, I am picking up my potting soil so I can at least start my seeds today.  I have my chives, oregano, and parsley that I want to start.  We’ll see how it goes.  I was going to take pictures for you all, but my camera decided that it wasn’t long for this world and sadly died last night at 8:48 pm Pacific Time.   I have another camera that isn’t quite as good as my Kodak, but I’m going to try to locate it and take the pictures that I promised.

 

In the meantime, here is the information again for the contest for the Urban Compost Bin.  It is valued at $75 and you’ll never have to pay for fertilizer again for your garden.  Even if you don’t grow your own garden, it would be a great gift for someone that does.  It even has a spout at the bottom to let the water drain from your compost to water your flowers.  It has some amazing nutrients that we call “Green Tea”, but I wouldn’t drink it myself.  But plants LOVE it!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Urban Composting Kit

Here are the contest rules and ways to enter:

1) Follow me on Twitter!  If you are already following me, CONGRATS, you already have on entry into the contest!

2) Comment on the current blog (1 entry per post limit)

3)  RT on Twitter with “A Chance to Win a Free Urban Compost Bin… http://www.milosmom.wordpress.com @nicoleisgreen”

The contest ends when one of the following happens:

1)   I am able to book and hold 10 Eco-Workshops for emagineGreen either online (U.S.) or in the Las Vegas area.

2.)  Sell 40 Urban Composting Bins by March 31st 2009.

3.)  Get 500 followers on Twitter!

 

Good luck everyone and I can’t wait to see who wins!

3 Comments

  1. Leora said,

    March 11, 2009 at 4:14 pm

    I hope my following you today helped a little. I’ll be happy to do the RT thing, too, after I do a bit of work first (I’m uploading an improv video of high school kids to our local library site right now).

    I confess I do my composting without a bin. Just pile and shovel/turn. I enjoy the turning part; I get exercise.

    • milosmom said,

      March 11, 2009 at 4:28 pm

      I’d love to just have a compost pile, but we live in the city where the neighbors are right beside us… lol. The bins are good for people like us that plant in planters on the patio. 🙂 Thank for following the blog. I hope to get it updated again today! I hope I find my old camera too.

  2. Naomi said,

    March 11, 2009 at 5:37 pm

    Hi Nicole and what a great blog..I am always looking for ways to live green and have started using the re-usable totes instead of plastic, just got to remember to take them in the store with me 🙂 Great idea on the Free Urban Compost Bin and wish ya all the best..I’ll RT on twitter as soon as I finish..Take good care and keep up the great work!!


Leave a Reply

