Sunny and Saturday

In Las Vegas this morning, it is slightly chilly with clear BEAUTIFUL skies.  My goal today is to take my plastic gallon milk jugs and cut them into almost perfect planting containers.  I also have a few larger tin cans that I plan on starting my herbs in.  I’m getting creative here.  The only thing I want to HAVE to buy is my potting soil and seeds.  I’m gardening on a budget this year.  I’ve got my new Urban Compost Bin outside and I can’t wait until everything breaks down so I can start using the fertilizer.

This is the time that I usually put my thoughts together and plan out the rest of my day, but I have a small person in the next room that has decided to be fussy today.  I’m going to ATTEMPT to put his Convertible Crib/Toddler Bed together today.  We’ll see how it goes considering that I’m “carpenter-ly challenged”.  His current pack-n-play is going to be his new “time out” center.  Yes, even at 13 months, the child has begun throwing temper tantrums, testing my limits, and challenging his boundaries.  Parenting is just now starting to get FUN!    I’ve found that being a SAHM/WAHM can be even more challenging than a 40 hour a week desk job.  It sure takes much more discipline.  Gardening will happen during naps if he continues to take naps like he has been.

If you are a SAHM, WAHM, or if you work outside the home, how do you keep your individuality when it seems that you spend ALL your time with your children?  I’d love to know how you keep your sanity.  I’m baby talking in public because of the time I spend with my son… lol.

On the fiance front this morning, I don’t think he was trying to reduce his carbon footprint, but he did carpool this morning to his RC car race today.  I was really excited about that.  His reasoning was that he wanted to conserve gas, but I was proud of him anyway.  I’m working on him although I’m still going through the trash after him and picking out the recycle-ables.  It can be a long process and I’m being patient.

Remember to check out our contest in the prior post.  I’ll repost it again in tomorrow’s post.

2 Comments

  1. Meshele said,

    March 7, 2009 at 6:31 pm

    Oh man, yeah you’re just now getting to the fun stuff in parenting! It’s all a power play mamma so be brave! lol

    I’ll have to get back to you in the ‘keeping your individuality’ part …. I’m JUST NOW starting to venture into those ‘waters’ … lol

  2. Jen said,

    March 7, 2009 at 7:50 pm

    Hey! Just so you know, I told a guy at work the other day I’d make him a pallet when he told me he was tired. HAHAHA… I’m still not into the whole individuality deal yet. I’m stuck in Mommy Mode. Maybe one of these days you’ll come visit and we can go alone to a coffee shop. lol. Talk to you soon, miss, and good luck with your garden!!


Leave a Reply

