Spring is just around the corner…

Are you planting anything for the spring?  Some parts of the country it is time to start planting seeds and watching things grow.  I know that here in Las Vegas, it has already warmed up enough to start planting.  Of course, I can’t have a traditional garden like people do in more rural areas due to the fact that the neighbor’s home is less than 6 feet from mine.  But I will attempt this year to grow things in pots.  I found a great list of veggies that can be grown in pots (http://achingdebts.com/12-vegetables-you-can-grow-in-a-pot/) which include beets, spinach, leaf lettuce, patio tomatoes, radishes, green peppers, green beans, squash, eggplant, swiss chard, and a variety of cooking herbs.  True there are of some on the list that I haven’t heard of, but if I can grow my own eggplants, green peppers, and cooking herbs, I’ll be proud of myself this year.

In my wonderful obsession with frugality, I’m looking for anything in the house that I’m not using right now to use as planters.  Have several plastic totes that we haven’t used since we moved.  They are just sitting in the garage.  Since Milo goes through almost 2 to 3 gallons of milk a month, we have a supply of plastic jugs that I could cut up and use.  On http://www.thriftyfun.com/tf545317.tip.html , I found people starting seeds in egg cartons and using emptied yogurt containers as planters.  They used the lids as saucers to catch the water.  Let your imagination “grow” wild.  Tell me what unusual container you’ve used as a planter… (Leave your comments!)

So, after I find my planters, I will go find my seeds or starter plants the first part of next week.  I found potting soil at the “99 cent only” store for only… (you guessed it!) 99 cents!   I should be rocking and rolling next week.  I’ll take pictures and post them of the messy effort.  For fertilizer, why should I go out and buy some when I can just about make my own with the leftover food from our meals.  Even living in an urban area like Las Vegas, I can have my own compost bin without stinking out the neighbors.  My company actual sells a self contained compost bin made out of recycled plastic bottles.  The price is $75 and it comes with the Bokashi mixture that quickly breaks down the food scraps and eliminates the food odor.

Urban Composting Kit

 

For the month of February, I’m having a contest on my blog.  The contest is for a free Urban Composter and Bokashi mixer in either black or white.  How do you enter the contest?  You do that in the following ways:

1) Follow me on Twitter!  If you are already following me, CONGRATS, you already have on entry into the contest!

2) Comment on the current blog (1 entry per post limit)

3)  RT on Twitter with “A Chance to Win a Free Urban Compost Bin… http://www.milosmom.wordpress.com @nicoleisgreen”

The contest ends when one of the following happens:

1)   I am able to book and hold 10 Eco-Workshops for emagineGreen either online (U.S.) or in the Las Vegas area.

2.)  Sell 40 Urban Composting Bins by March 31st 2009.

3.)  Get 500 followers on Twitter!

 

Good luck everyone and I can’t wait to see who wins!

6 Comments

  1. Andi Sherwood said,

    March 6, 2009 at 7:47 pm

    I would have thought that Las Vegas was too hot to grow some of those things. Does lettuce grow in that kind of heat? Good for you for planting!

    🙂

    • milosmom said,

      March 6, 2009 at 7:55 pm

      As long as I can water it and give it the shade or no shade that it needs I actually think it could. More interested in bell peppers since I cook with them a lot. Love my omlettes with bell pepers!

  2. March 6, 2009 at 8:22 pm

    Have you done any work on rain barrels? We use a rainwater collection system on our house for our cistern (which is where all our water comes from), and have considered setting something up for the barn too.

    • milosmom said,

      March 6, 2009 at 8:27 pm

      I wish it would rain enough here for that. I did that in Louisiana for a while when I lived there and it was great! There is a drought going on and Lake Mead (main water supply) is really low. I like to reuse water. If I steam veggies, I use the leftover water and water plants with them. If it starts raining more, I’ll be doing that too.

  3. liajen said,

    March 6, 2009 at 8:45 pm

    My son and I have decided that this is the year we’re going to start composting, and I have my eye on your composting kit. We’ve created planters from the quart-size milk cartons, and have also started seeds in egg cartons. When I was a teacher, there was nothing more fun than starting bean seeds on the side of a clear plastic cup. Growing herbs is my favorite!

    • milosmom said,

      March 6, 2009 at 8:48 pm

      You know and I remember doing the plastic clear cups from when I was in the third grade growing flowers. I have a feeling this might be a great Spring.


Leave a Reply

