Sometimes it just takes a little time…

I had every intention of blogging daily, but with a child, having Fibromyalgia and some kind of joint condition… Just didn’t happen.  Yesterday, I was able to do something extraordinary after disaster happened.  No, I didn’t lift a car off of someone.  Not THAT special… lol.  Our car broke down yesterday after I had decided that that day was going to be a great one.  We had to have the car towed back to the house.  Brandon had asked me to clean out the garage so the tow truck driver could back the car in and have plenty of room.  I was tired.  I was angry that the car was incapacitated.  But I got out and started cleaning the garage. 

I guess since it’s always been rather dark in there, I didn’t realize how much “junk” was just stacked in the garage.  There were cardboard boxes thrown everywhere, plastic bottles in the corners.  Suddenly I had a green glow about me and I said very audibly, “I CAN RECYCLE ALL OF THIS!!!”  I went into the house and obtained a knife so I could start breaking down the boxes and taking the labels off the bottles.  I separated the cardboard boxes into two piles:  “big enough to reuse if we have to move” and “no further use–recycle”.  I was so proud of myself.  I didn’t get to sweep the garage out, but I will keep the recycling truck driver busy on Friday when they come by.

Now I’ve got it in my head that when I’m done with something plastic, tin, or cardboard, I automatically think of cleaning it up and putting it in the recycle bin.  If I could just remember about what kinds of paper I can recycle, it would be WONDERFUL.  I’m always scared with paper about people getting identifying information even if it just has your name and address on it.  I guess I’ll be investing in a shredder soon.

2 Comments

  1. Tonya Tamura said,

    March 3, 2009 at 7:15 pm

    Very inspiring!! I need to do the same to my garage!!

  2. Katie said,

    March 5, 2009 at 3:54 am

    Way to go, girl!


Leave a Reply

